The Incorrigible Night Owl

April 6, 2004

Goodbye Ruby Tuesday

Ahhh, Tuesday! It's...well, um...it's after Monday and ah...before Wednesday, and it's about 24 hours long. Hmmm. Not really much to be said about Tuesdays, is there? I mean, people love Fridays and hate Mondays. Wednesday is "hump day." But Tuesday is just sort of there, bridging the gap between crummy and slightly-less-crummy days.

Oh! I know! Tuesday is book club day -- for me, anyway. First Tuesday of every month, which means we meet tonight. I did not read the selection for this month. I actually went so far as to order it from Amazon. When I got it I thumbed through it and just could not see myself enjoying it. It's about a serial killer. I know, as Robert said, "The idea of book club is to get you to read things you might not normally read!" And this is the first time I have ever chosen not to read the book because I didn't want to(there have been other times I have not read but it's been because I knew I'd be out of town when the discussion took place).

It's just that I read for fun, I read for escape, I read to entertain myself. And, I don't know, brutal slayings are just not my idea of a good time. I know it's supposed to make you Think and Feel and all that good stuff. But, really, isn't there enough ugliness in the world in real life? There are so many things that bring me down throughout the course of a regular day that I just didn't feel up to adding to it when I didn't have to. I like happy books and funny books. I don't mind a tearjerker if everyone turns out okay in the end. Crime novels are just not my genre, especially when they are way too descriptive, as this one seemed to be.

There, I just wanted to get that out. I am going to go to the meeting in spite of not reading the book (there are always a couple of people each month who haven't read but come anyway). And I'd like to hear what the others have to say about the book. But I would never say any of the things I've said here at the meeting because I wouldn't want it to come across as a personal indictment on the lady who chose the book. It's NOT (in fact, I can't even remember who chose the book because I wasn't at the last meeting, when the book was announced). It's just a personal thing. For some reason, this month, I just couldn't pluck up any interest in the subject matter.

On to more cheerful subjects: Robert and I sketched out a tentative plan for the next California trip. Looks like I will be leaving the second week of June sometime. I still plan to stay 3 weeks. We want Robert to come out sometime before the 20th, which is Father's Day. We will hit all kinds of occasions while there this time: my parents' anniversary, Father's Day and Zachy's birthday. I am SO looking forward to it. I can't wait to get out there and just kick back for a whole 3 weeks. Maybe this time the trip won't go by so fast!

I just sent Madalyn's registration papers for next year back to school with her this morning. The 4-year-olds go M-Th, and I have her signed up to stay extended day all four days. So she will be gone from 9-3 four days a week next school year. I have to get a set of papers for JZ and fill them out, too. The 1-year-olds only go on Tues. and Thurs. My intent is, if I think he can handle it, to have him stay extended day one of those days, so that I will have one day a week where I am child-free for 6 hours. That will be such a nice break for me!





|