The Incorrigible Night Owl

May 29, 2004

And off we go!

There is much jubilation in the J/B household, as our dates and transport to California have been finalized.

Ms. B (that would be me) and the little J's will be arriving in the Golden State on June 15th and will not depart until July 6th. The larger J will join us for six days of that time.

We are flying into San Luis, as my grandma has very kindly offered us the loan of her car for a nominal fee, saving us $500 or more by not needing to rent one for three weeks.

The day we are leaving to come home is actually Mommy Dearest's birthday, which stinks. I fully intended to leave the 7th or 8th but several factors conspired to make it much more advisable to go on the 6th. Not only was it $75 cheaper but it also meant a 1 hr., 45 min. layover at LAX instead of a 3+ hour one. Additionally, it puts us into Dallas at 7:30 p.m. instead of 9:00. The $75 savings, by itself, wouldn't have been enough to sway me but the time issue clinched it. When traveling with a 3-year-old and a 1-year-old any time you can shave off an hour or 90 minutes you should take the opportunity. I will make it up to Ma by taking her to dinner the night before.

But, behold! Lest you think that these plans are the only things afoot, I have to also mention a couple other items which are of no interest to anyone but myself and possibly Robert.

Our pool, much to my amazement, is, indeed, ready for use this weekend. So our original Memorial Day plans will be carried out after all. All the supplies for barbequing burgers have been gathered. We'll do some swimming, a lot of eating, and spend the rest of the time lounging around the house.

Tuesday is my book club. I always look forward to it but I especially enjoyed the book this month so I am excited to talk about it.

And then, on Friday.....Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban is released!!! I simply cannot wait! And, as if that wasn't good enough, I have secured a babysitter for that evening so Robert and I will make a date night of it.

We are also finally going to have our long-delayed garage sale on June 12th. Surely we can get it all ready by then and I will take the cash we raise with me to California for spending money.

All in all, it's a busy six weeks or so I've got coming up. Not that I'm complaining. I like it this way. This is normal for me. Sitting at home for a month straight and doing nothing just isn't natural!



|