The Incorrigible Night Owl

June 10, 2004

The washing machine repairman must die!

Why, why, WHY??

So...one or both of my children is usually up by 8:30 at the very latest. Usually it's more along the lines of 8 or 8:15. I don't really get to sleep late much any more because Robert has to start getting ready to leave at 9. So if the kids wake us up at 8:15 there is usually no point in me sending him to get up with them because I've only got 45 minutes before I have to take over, anyway.

Well, last night, John Zachary gave us all kinds of trouble going to bed, so he didn't get to sleep until late. Madalyn also went to bed late. It is now 9:10 and JZ is just now starting to babble over the baby monitor (which is what wakes me up). Madalyn is still dead to the world. Problem?

I have been up since 8:10, having been awoken by the washing machine repairman ringing to say he'd be right over.

This is just SO my life.

I know there are lots of people who would just love to be able to "sleep in" till ten after 8. But those are probably people who went to bed at 10 p.m. or some other decent time. I didn't go to sleep till 12:30 a.m. and then was woken up at 1:30 by Madalyn crawling into bed with us because "[her] leg hurt" and "the blanket was hurting [her] leg." (Editor's note: HUH??)

Anyhow, I'm not really sure where I'm going with this except to say that I'm really tired but I have a lot of stuff to do today. I didn't exercise yesterday (first day in over 2 weeks that I didn't) so that is most definitely on the agenda. Plus we have much work left to be done garage sale-wise so much of my time will be spent out there today, as well.

On the plus side I don't have a whole lot to do in preparation for our trip. Our (enormous) box of clothes went out on Monday via UPS. $35 later they claim it will arrive in CA on Friday. So, even if it's a (business) day late, as it has been before, it will still be there before we are. With that done all I really have to worry about is packing the carry-on bag and changing the gp/rabbit cages the day before we go.

Annoyingly enough I am now having an inner conflict about the diaper bag-backpack I just bought. It arrived yesterday and I am disappointed in how much (how little?) space it has inside. It looks so huge in the picture. I already had a brand-new, never used backpack in the closet that I think might have more room and I am waffling very badly over whether I want to send this new one back or not. Is there a Bag Buyers' Anonymous? I think I may need to go!



|