The Incorrigible Night Owl

July 12, 2004

How many surrealists does it take to change a lightbulb?

Conversation that actually occurred between myself and Madalyn last night:

Madalyn (crawling down the hallway, starkers, after her shower, on the way to get her comb from the other bathroom): "I'm not naked!"

Me (confused): "You're not?"

Madalyn: "No. I'm a pineapple!"

Me: "Oh! Well, what do pineapples wear?"

Madalyn (in a tone that indicates she sincerely doubts my intelligence): "NOTHING!"

Who needs mind-altering drugs? Life is surreal enough when you have a preschooler.

In other news -- guess who walked today? Okay, besides me. And Madalyn. And Robert. And both cats and all three rodents.

John Zachary took his first steps!

And no one-trick pony, he. He did it twice for me and once for Robert.

Great things are in store for you, my little man. Keep moving ahead and don't look back. Mommy will be doing enough of that for both of us.



|