The Incorrigible Night Owl

May 7, 2005

Vene, Vidi, Visa (I came, I saw, I shopped)

Relaxation! Shopping! Eating! Reading four straight chapters of a book without once having to get up to break up a skirmish over a Little People figure!

Bzzzt! I'll take "Things That Happen When You Go Out of Town Without the Kids" for $200, Alex.

Y'know, I never, in a million years, thought I'd be someone who got excited...nay, aquiver over a trip to Oklahoma City. But circumstances have conspired to bring me to a point where I have to be happy with what I can get. Yes, I would have rather jetted off to Vegas or NYC, natch. But, to be frank, my choices at this particular time were Oklahoma City or nothing. I chose OKC. Oh, how the mighty have fallen.

Anywho, the trip was fab. Not the least of which was that I actually did everything I intended to do. Traveling with small children, one tends to judiciously prune a good half of the activites that were originally planned, just because it's too damned much trouble to haul everyone around all day. This time, blessedly solo, I stuck to the itinerary I had plotted out in my mind.

Much shopping occurred. Retail therapy is the best. I bought out Gymboree and it was still cheaper than a shrink. Gymbo was having a super sale plus I had a coupon for an additional 30% off. I was in hog heaven and got off cheap, besides. Have I mentioned I am unhealthily obsessed with Gymboree clothing for my two spoiled rotten tykes? I got Madalyn a gorgeous silk dress with a ballerina skirt. It was originally priced at $50 and I got it for $17.50. The matching shoes, formerly $34, cost me just 7. I think we have our next portrait outfit.

I did buy the kids lots of stuff but I didn't forget to treat myself. At JC Penney my eye was drawn to a display of super-fun, completely adorable purses (another sale item, by the way). I wasn't sure if I'd like it, as I usually prefer backpack-style bags. But I couldn't resist. I bought one, took it back to the hotel and tried it. I liked it so much I ended up going back this morning and buying another one in a different color.

I have to say Madalyn was the big winner in all this, however. John Zachary only got new clothes, but Madalyn got clothes, a giant, stuffed Care Bear, and new bedding, besides. Her faux fur coverlet was looking awfully nappy so I found a gorgeous, princess-y looking purple comforter and matching sham to replace it. Her curtains and bedskirt are still pink. It looks great with her freestanding canopy, which is pink and purple.

Off to wait the return of my beloved (read: he did a fairly decent job of caring for both children while I was gone, in that they are bathed, fed, and still living). He went to a late showing of some creepy movie after he got done at work and should be home any time. Will close with some snaps of my two new purses.





|