The Incorrigible Night Owl

September 21, 2004

I found love at the Oklahoma State Fair

I have a new love...fair food-wise, that is. (Romance-wise, still the same old dude.)

We are just back from the OK State Fair and I have discovered a new treat which I will be seeking out on every fair trip from now till the end of time. Forget funnel cakes; forget fried Twinkies and Snickers....the new love of my fair-going life is..... (drumroll, please)

Bavarian cream-filled Churros.

Oh yeah, you heard me right.....all the deep-fried, cinnamon-sugary goodness of a Churro with the added pleasure of pudding-like Bavarian cream stuffed in the middle. It's like your favorite donut has been genetically enhanced by a team of scientists whose only purpose in life is to make your eyes roll back into your head while you make embarrassingly ecstatic noises.

One serving also has about ten frazillion carbs in it and enough sugar to send you into a diabetic coma, but, hey, you gotta take the good with the bad, right?

It's just a good thing that this is going to be a once-a-year proposition because I? So don't need any more potential pitfalls on the road to skinnyness. If someone set up a Bavarian cream-filled Churro stand here Robert would have to hire David Copperfield to come magic my ass back home because I'd no longer be able to force my sticky, cinnamon-sugar coated mass through the doorway.





|